The Biggest Challenge in Product Design

mtsthelens.jpg

I was listening to an interview with former Twitter VP of Design Mike Davidson on the Intercom podcast and it made me fire away a tweetstorm.

It had me thinking that the best products have no choice but to evolve over time, and having to navigate all the different obstacles comes with the territory. That can be a growth challenge, a revenue challenge, a competitor challenge, and often it’s actually a first principle “what does our product even do?” challenge.

So with these in mind, I wondered what I thought was the single biggest challenge when it comes to designing products of any kind. And what I came up with is actually pretty basic, and often times something that’s easily forgettable because it’s not the sexiest or even the most intuitive to ask.

Here’s my own take on it:


Photo: Jonathan House

 
17
Kudos
 
17
Kudos

Now read this

Design is Asking Questions

Design is usually thought of as a problem-solving endeavor and about finding the best solutions given existing constraints. That is indeed true. But in my opinion high-level design also involves constantly asking questions. They can... Continue →